NBA announces the finalists for MVP and other major end of season awards

Golden State Warriors v Houston Rockets - Game Two

The NBA has announced James Harden, LeBron James and Anthony Davis as the finalists for this year's MVP award.

The trio all put together terrific individual campaigns in the regular season for their respective teams and have been recognised for their exploits.

Harden is the clear favourite to scoop the honour for the first time in his career after he inspired the Houston Rockets to the best record in the league.

They finished with the number one seed in the west at 65-17 and the shooting guard ended the year as the league's leading scorer with 30.4 points per game.

He was the best player on the best team and will surely not be overlooked for the prize like he has been in the last two years.

The Cleveland Cavaliers had a rollercoaster season but it was still arguably LeBron's best campaign of his 15 years in the NBA.

James played all 82 games for the first time and averaged 27.5 points, 8.6 rebounds and 9.1 assists per game while shooting 54 percent.

Davis led the New Orleans Pelicans to the playoffs for the first time since 2015 despite a season-ending Achilles injury to DeMarcus Cousins.

NBA All-Star Game 2018

Once his frontcourt partner went down, AD stepped his game up significantly and went on a tear in the final two months of the campaign.

The 25-year-old was the second leading scorer behind Harden with 28.1 points, fifth in rebounding (11.1) and first in blocks (2.6).

The league has also announced the finalists for the other five major awards as Ben Simmons, Donovan Mitchell and Jayson Tatum will battle it out for the Rookie of the Year crown.

This has been one of the biggest talking points this season as Simmons and Mitchell have had sensational starts to their NBA careers and one of the two is expected to win.

The Philadelphia 76ers point guard averaged 15.8 ppg, 8.2 apg and 8.1 rpg and posted 12 double-doubles. He played a huge role in his team's 52-win campaign.

Utah Jazz rookie Mitchell averaged 20.5 points and helped the Salt Lake City franchise win a surprising 48 games despite losing Gordon Hayward last summer.

Joel Embiid, Rudy Gobert and Davis have been named as the three men competing for the Defensive Player of the Year award.

The finalists for the other awards are:

Coach of the Year: Dwane Casey (Toronto Raptors), Quin Snyder (Jazz), Brad Stevens (Boston Celtics)

Most Improved Player: Clint Capela (Rockets), Spencer Dinwiddie (Brooklyn Nets), Victor Oladipo (Indiana Pacers)

Sixth Man of the Year: Eric Gordon (Rockets), Lou Williams (L.A. Clippers), Fred VanVleet (Raptors)

2017 NBA Awards Live On TNT - Inside

The awards will be voted on by a panel of 100 media members. The winners will be confirmed at the NBA Awards show in Los Angeles on June 25.

Listen HERE to episode two of the new GiveMeSport NBA podcast, featuring New York Times senior writer Marc Stein.

Enjoy, and please subscribe for all future episodes.

News Now - Sport News