Introducing the Premier League 'Team of the Decade' featuring the best players from 2010 to 2020


With just a few months left of 2019, we'll soon be entering a new decade.

The 2010s will hold plenty of special memories for football fans, given that Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo were playing at their peak.

Those two were doing unbelievable things week in, week out and had a fierce rivalry while playing for the two biggest clubs in Europe. 

In the Premier League, there were plenty of famous moments to remember too.

England may not have had Messi and Ronaldo, but the last 10 years have seen huge stars turn out in the top flight.

With just a few months of 2019 left, we've decided to create the Premier League's 'Team of the Decade' - Check it out below: 

David de Gea

After arriving at Man United in 2011, De Gea quickly established himself as one of the best goalkeepers in the world and has been in that bracket ever since.

The Spaniard has been named in the Premier League's Team of the Season five times. 

De Gea is one of the best keepers in the world

Leighton Baines

There are a few players who've won silverware that we could put at left-back, but none of those have been a constant in the league like Baines. 

Since the 2010/11 season, the Everton vice-captain has made 250 appearances and his performances earned him a spot in two different Teams of the Season. 

Baines may not be the most fashionable player, but he certainly deserves a spot in this XI.

Baines has been a constant in the PL for over a decade

John Terry

Not just one of the greatest defenders of the last decade, Terry is one of the greatest in history. 

Three of his five titles with Chelsea came after 2010 and he departed the top flight in 2017 as a legend, having made a total of 492 appearances since making his debut in 1998. 

Vincent Kompany

Alongside Terry is a man who captained his team to four Premier League titles between 2010 and 2019. 

Kompany was unbeatable on his day and played a key part of Manchester City's most successful era. 

Kompany won multiple PL titles

Pablo Zabaleta

Like his City teammate, Zalaleta deserves a spot in this side for winning two titles before departing the Etihad in 2017 with over 200 appearances to his name. 

N'Golo Kante

Kante arrived at Leicester City in 2015 as a complete unknown. Just 12 months later, he was being hailed as the best midfielder in the world after driving his team to a shock title win. 

The Frenchman moved to Chelsea that summer and won another title, before lifting the World Cup with his country in 2018.   

He's still regarded as one of the best players in Europe and Blues fans hope he will be at Stamford Bridge for many more years to come. 

Kante is one of the best in the world

Yaya Toure

Before Kante arrived, it was Toure who dominated the Premier League midfield. He won three titles in eight years after arriving in 2010, making a total of 230 appearances across the decade.  

David Silva

Silva joined City in 2010 from Valencia and went on to establish himself as one of the best attacking players in the world. 

He'll leave Manchester at the end of this season, having won four Premier League titles and made 282 appearances to date. 

Silva will leave City at the end of the season

Eden Hazard

Real Madrid's latest 'Galactico' really made a name for himself in England. He put Chelsea on his back and lifted them to a title win in 2015, before doing it all again two years later. 

Hazard scored 85 goals in 245 games and was likened to Messi and Ronaldo on his day.

Sergio Aguero

Aguero is not only the best striker of the last decade, but he's up there with the best the Premier League have ever seen. 

It was the Argentine's goal that won City their first title in 2012 and since then, the silverware hasn't stopped. 

172 goals since arriving in 2011 puts Aguero up there with the greats, as does his Golden Boot, which was won in 2015.   

Aguero's goal won City the title in 2012

Robin van Persie

Van Persie was already a Premier League legend before he joined Man United in 2012, having spent eight years with Arsenal.

But at Old Trafford, the Dutchman took his career to new heights by almost single-handedly delivering Sir Alex Ferguson's team the title in his debut season.  

On an individual level, RVP scored 48 goals for both Arsenal and United between 2010 and 2015, winning back to back Golden Boots in the process. 

Van Persie takes his spot in the XI

There we have it, the Premier League's 'Team of the Decade'. Of course, plenty of names miss out, but we think all of these picks deserve a spot in the XI. 

News Now - Sport News