Premier League bosses ranked by their highest FIFA rating when they were players


The football world looks remarkably different this season as we get to grips with the ongoing restrictions that are in place around the world.

Supporters are unable to attend matches and follow their teams as closely as they were before, and that means that more and more fans will be spending their Saturday afternoons at home.

Thankfully there's some good news to fill those long weekends without live sport.

FIFA 21 is due to be released in just four weeks' time, and that has made us very excited.

October 9 is the date to mark in your diaries, and maybe book a day off work as well.

Football fans have spent a lifetime playing the popular EA Sports game, and we've seen plenty of improvements made as the years have gone by.

From vastly improved graphics to additional features to enhance gameplay, it's easy to underestimate just how far it has come.

After all, these days it is so life-like that it's actually a bit scary.


But that hasn't always been the case.

Plenty of figures who are well-known now for their exploits in management were among the players who featured on those early editions of the game.

That said, the graphics were so dated that you probably wouldn't recognise them, but they were there.

There's always a lot of debate about how FIFA have rated the current crop of players on the game, with some saying that individual players have been undersold with average ratings.

But how did the current group of Premier League managers stack up on the popular game?


There are 11 top flight bosses who have featured on the game - with all of them having varying degrees of success as a player.

The team at Unikrn have done the research over which current boss is the best player to have graced the EA Sports franchise.

Here are the top 11 Premier League managers ranked by their FIFA rating during their prime as a player.

1. Frank Lampard (Chelsea) - 90

2. Steve Bruce (Manchester United) - 89

3. Slaven Bilic (West Ham United) - 86

4. Ole Gunnar Solskjaer (Manchester United) - 85

5. Mikel Arteta (Everton) - 83

6. Scott Parker (Newcastle United) - 83

7. Pep Guardiola (Barcelona) - 81

8. Nuno Espirito Santo (Porto) - 75

9. Sean Dyche (Watford) - 66

10. Dean Smith (Port Vale) - 53

11. Graham Potter (Macclesfield Town) - 43

News Now - Sport News